How Do The Witcher Books End (And Will There be More)? 

How Do The Witcher Books End (And Will There be More)? 

The Witcher is a popular Netflix series with two seasons and the third one in production. As the show gained popularity, many were surprised to find out that the show was based on a series of books by the same name. The show is currently ongoing, but how does the book series end? And will there be more books?

The final book of the series ends with Ciri telling her story to Galahad and then riding off with him to Camelot. The rest of the story, including Geralt and Yennefer’s fate, is open-ended and left up to reader interpretation. As for more books, the last one was originally published ten years ago, but the author has hinted that more could come. 

Keep reading if you want to know all about the Witcher book series, including how it ends. If you are a fan of the show, it has followed the books closely and will most likely continue to do so. This article will also update you on what’s to come for both the show and the books!

The Witcher Book Series: All You Need To Know

How Do The Witcher Books End (And Will There be More)? 

The Witcher series is a fantasy book series consisting of six novels and two short story collections. Polish author Andrezj Sapkowski wrote them. The books were originally published in Poland between 1991 and 2012 and then in the United States between 2007 and 2018. 

The book series follows Geralt, who is a witcher, or monster-hunter, that specializes in tracking and killing monsters and supernatural beings. Witchers have an extended lifespan and have more skill, speed, and stamina than regular humans. 

Other characters include Geralt’s ally Yennefer, his charge Ciri, and his good friend Jaskier. The books are set in the fictional world known as the Continent. There are dragons, vampires, and werewolves. The books are also full of European folklore and mythology. 

Here are the books in release order: 

  • The Last Witch
  • Sword of Destiny
  • Blood of Elves
  • Time of Contempt
  • Baptism of Fire
  • The Tower of Swallows
  • The Lady of the Lake 
  • Season of Storms

The Last Witch and Sword of Destiny are actually short story collections, but they introduce Geralt and his allies, and each story takes the reader on various monster-hunting adventures with Geralt. 

The following five books: Blood of Elves, Time of Contempt, Baptism of Fire, The Tower of Swallows, and The Lady of the Lake, are complete novels and move chronologically through the saga. Geralt and his friends continue to face growing danger, and Ciri’s powers keep growing. The Lady of the Lake is technically the end of the series.

The last book that was written, Season of Storms, is not the last book chronologically. It is a prequel to the Witcher series and is set earlier than the other books. 

However, since the first two story collections are not really on a timeline, and the last one is more of a stand-alone title, the series does not have to be read chronologically. It can be read in release order and still make sense. 

How Do The Books End?

How Do The Witcher Books End (And Will There be More)? 

Since Season of Storms is a prequel novel, The Lady of the Lake is the last book of the Witcher Series. This book begins with Ciri trapped in an elven world with no way out. This world is also on a different timeline than her world. 

However, Ciri has to escape because she needs to reunite with Geralt and Yennefer. She also still needs to defeat Bonhart. She runs into Sir Galahad, and he mistakes her for the legendary Lady of the Lake. 

As the two begin talking, Ciri tells him her story, recounting everything she has been through with Geralt and the others. This includes Geralt dying and Yennefer using all her strength to revive him and passing out. Also, Ciri whisks them away, and the three of them disappear. 

The book ends with Ciri finishing her story there and Galahad still intently listening. She doesn’t specify if Geralt and Yennefer survive, only offering that she could complete the story with them taking care of each other, then later marrying. It is unknown if this is what really happened or if this is the way Ciri chose to remember them. 

Galahad then proposes that Ciri join him back at Camelot, and she accepts. Therefore, the ending is pretty open-ended and left up to interpretation. There are several alternate endings that readers have offered. 

The first option is that the story ends as Ciri said it did, with Geralt revived. He and Yennefer comfort and heal each other and then eventually get married and are joined at their wedding by beloved characters from the series, both alive and dead. And they live happily ever after. 

Another proposed ending is that Geralt and Yennefer both died, and Ciri offered her story of their happy ending as her own way of dealing with her grief. Still, another conclusion is that Geralt and Yennefer died, but since the afterlife exists, they live happily ever after there. 

Will There Be More Witcher Books?

How Do The Witcher Books End (And Will There be More)? 

Season of Storms was the last book published in the series, but it is considered a prequel and not the ending to the series. It was published in 2013 in Poland and in 2018 in the U.S. The Lady of the Lake was published in 1999 in Poland and in 2017 in the U.S. 

There have not been any Witcher books published since then. Still, since there was a gap between when Lady of the Lake and Season of Storms was published, and Season of Storms was a prequel, then it’s safe to say that there still could be more Witcher books just following a different canon than the existing saga. 

Furthermore, the author, Andrzej Sapkowski, has hinted in interviews that more Witcher books may be possible. It is also possible that Sapkowski left The Lady of the Lake open-ended because he planned to return to the series one day. 

However, nothing has yet been confirmed. But if you’re left wanting more after reading the eight existing novels, check out the Netflix series, which currently has two seasons. If you are a gamer, there is also a Witcher video game series which consists of three games and a fourth in production.

  • Hrvoje Milakovic is co-owner of Voice Film and a big cinephile. Apart from that, he likes to read comics, play games and collect action figures. He has been featured on LifeWire, Yahoo and IMDb, to name a few.